ASMB Public Banner

Requirements for Medical Doctor / Osteopathic Doctor

General Requirements:

  • You must be twenty-one years of age
  • You must be of good moral character and have not been guilty of acts constituting unprofessional conduct, as defined in Arkansas Medical Practices Act Sec. 17-95-409
  • You must complete a background check as defined in Arkansas Medical Practices Act Sec. 17-95-306
  • You must be a graduate of an approved medical school and request your school provide a certified copy of your transcript to this board
  • You must have completed at least ONE (1) year of internship or residency in an ACGME approved program in the United States
  • Present Indisputable Identification
  • Licensure fee of $400 and processing fee of $100 ($500 total) is required at application

Licensure is by credentials:

  • Credentials must be verified from the originating source, verifications received from applicants will be returned

Licensing examinations meeting the board requirement are as follows:

  • FLEX, National Boards, USMLE, National Board of Osteopathic Exam; COMLEX, LMCC or State Exams taken prior to 1975

If you are an international medical graduate, you must also provide:

  • Verification of Clinical Clerkships
  • Certification by ECFMG and demonstrate in a personal interview the ability to read, write and speak English fluently and also demonstrate adequate training and ability sufficient to permit the practice of medicine in accordance with accepted medical practice in the state of Arkansas
  • Completion of at least THREE (3) years of internship or residency in an ACGME approved program in the United States – OR – completion of at least ONE (1) year of internship or residency in an ACGME approved program in the United States AND be currently enrolled in a training program with the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

If you are applying for an educational license:

Pursuant to Act 497 of the 85th General Assembly of the Regular Session of 2005, the Arkansas State Medical Board is empowered to issue an educational license to applicants who meet the following requirements:

  1. Be 21 years of age
  2. Be of good moral character
  3. Submit a completed application to the Board
  4. Submit a $400.00 application fee and a $100.00 licensure-processing fee
  5. Appear personally before the Arkansas State Medical Board, together with the sponsoring physician from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Department where the applicant will be practicing medicine
  6. Present to the Board such information as to what department of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences he or she will be practicing medicine and who will be his/her supervisor
  7. Said educational license will authorize the licensee to practice medicine only within the clinical and educational programs established and administered by the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  8. Said educational license will be valid for a period of one (1) year from the date of issuance
  1. Submit a completed application to the Arkansas State Medical Board providing such information as the Board requests
  2. Pay a renewal fee of $200.00
  3. Appear in person before the Board, together with the Chairman of the clinical or educational program wherein the applicant will be practicing medicine at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

The educational license issued to a licensee will lapse at the end of one year and must be re-applied for by the licensee under the following conditions:



Completed application, fee and documentation should be sent to:



  • Arkansas State Medical Board
  • 1401 West Capitol, Suite 340
  • Little Rock, AR 72201